Chennai Super Kings Squad (IPL CSK Team)

MS Dhoni37 yearsWicket keeperRight-hand batRight-arm medium
KM Asif25 yearsBowlerRight-hand batRight-arm medium

Sam Billings
27 yearsWicketkeeper batsmanRight-hand bat
Chaitanya Bishnoi24 years Batting AllrounderLeft-hand bat Slow left-arm orthodox
Dwayne Bravo35 YearsAllrounderRight-hand batRight-arm medium-fast
Deepak Chahar26 yearsBowlerRight-hand batRight-arm medium
Faf du Plessis34 yearsMiddle-order batsmanRight-hand batLegbreak
Ruturaj Gaikwad21 yearsRight-hand batRight-arm offbreak
Harbhajan Singh38 yearsBowler Right-hand batRight-arm offbreak
Imran Tahir39 yearsBowler Right-hand batLegbreak googly
Kedar Jadhav34 yearsBatting allrounderRight-hand batRight-arm offbreak
Narayan Jagadeesan22 yearsOpening batsmanRight-hand bat
Suresh Raina31 yearsMiddle-order batsmanLeft-hand batRight-arm offbreak
Ambati Rayudu33 yearsMiddle-order batsmanRight-hand batRight-arm offbreak
Ravindra Jadeja29 yearsAllrounderLeft-hand batSlow left-arm orthodox


Chennai Super Kings are a company cricket team based in the city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu. They perform at the professional domestic Twenty20 league of India, the Indian Premier League (IPL).

They play their home games in the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, also known as the Chepauk Stadium. They’re definitely the most successful franchise in the background of this IPL (along with Mumbai Indians) and have a huge fan following in the country.

The side is now captained by former skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. They also possess a star-studded coaching line-up at Stephen Fleming (Head Coach), Michael Hussey (Batting Coach) and Lakshmipathy Balaji (Bowling Coach).

The team scooped up the yellow jersey along with their logo is that of a roaring lion in orange, with the group’s name left in blue. The Chennai franchise is so called to honor the rulers of the Tamil Empire.

Possessing the biggest fanbase in the IPL, lately the Whistle Podu Army (in their theme song”Whistle Podu”), that’s the official fan club of Chennai Super Kings, won the”Best Fan Club of the Year” award in a poll conducted by the Indian Sports Honour.


Among the eight original members throughout the arrival of the Indian Premier League, that the team was formed in January 2008. The franchise has been bought by India Cements for $91 million. The rights to the group were purchased for a period of ten decades.

The franchise had been possessed by former ICC Chairman N. Srinivasan because of some own standing Vice-Chairman and Managing Director at India Cements Ltd. for specific time period. However, the rights were transferred to a distinct entity named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd, following the Supreme Court struck down the controversial amendment into the BCCI constitution’s clause 6.2.4.


As stated previously, Chennai Super Kings are among the most successful franchises in the history of IPL, despite being frozen for a couple of years from the league. The Super Kings have won the IPL name thrice (2010, 2011 and 2018) and have been runners-up four occasions (2008, 2012, 2013, 2015). They have also won the dysfunct Champions League Twenty20 double (2010, 2014).

The Chennai Super Kings would be the first IPL facet to retain their IPL title (2010 and 2011) and also the very first side to get the dual (IPL title and Champions League name ) from 2010.

Trajectory of the club

The Chennai Super Kings hit the floor running with the creation of the IPL. In the first season itself, they left it to the finals against Rajasthan Royals, but unfortunately ended up on the losing side. The next season appeared excellent, where they finished second in the desk, but had a disappointing semi-final depart throughout the playoffs.

However, this was followed by back-to-back titles in the following two decades. Chennai Super Kings was able to reach the finals in the following two seasons as well but failed to win the title. However, just when it seemed that CSK were getting an unstoppable force, they had been struck with controversy.

The franchise had been included in a major spot-fixing case in 2013, as N. Srinivasan’s son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan was detained by the Mumbai Police on costs of placing IPL stakes. 2 decades afterwards, the Supreme Court suspended the owners of 2 franchises, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals that had been allegedly engaged in match-fixing. This suspension triggered a ban to the groups for two years. Both the teams made a comeback in the IPL 2018.

IPL 2018

After serving their suspension, CSK made their comeback at the IPL from the 2018 version. However, they promptly faced major issues as their home matches were jeopardized by the 2018 Cauvery water dispute. The BCCI eventually decided that the MCA Stadium at Pune are their temporary new home floor for the rest of the tournament.

Problems from the pitch, however, did not impact the operation on the pitch as CSK got off to a flying start, beating the defending champions Mumbai Indians from the opening. Chennai proceeded to finish second at the table, based only on net run rate as they were level on points. They defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in the first qualifier and then again in the Final to win the IPL 2018 name.

IPL 2019 Auction

CSK retained the vast majority of their players for IPL 2019, hence they had a comparatively quiet auction. They had only two signings in Mohit Sharma ($5 cr) and also Ruturaj Gaikwad ($20L). Chennai Super Kings are a franchise cricket group based in the city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu. They perform at the professional national Twenty20 league of India, the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Leave a Reply